skip to content

By popular demand, Georgia Mooney’s SUPERGROUP series returns to Giant
Dwarf this Summer! Now a monthly event, join us at the brand-new music show that
everyone’s been talking about.


FRIDAY JANUARY 24th, 8:00pm
Featuring: TBC

SUNDAY FEBRUARY 23rd, 6:00pm
Featuring: TBC

“Georgia’s a spectacular performer but also an exceedingly generous host. The best combination since Gin and Tonic. Onward Supergroup!” – Tim Rogers

“Beautiful songs, accompanied by great stories with moments of insight and hilarity.  All the while effortlessly guided past any potential chaos by our green genie of a host.” – Paul McDermott

The four-part Summer series is packed with iconic talent from all manner of musical
and cultural backgrounds. Seated in a semi-circle, the artists go round the group,
sharing songs while the others join in beside them. Backed by an incredible house
band (comprising Sydney’s best session players and surprise special guests), the
result is a unique and spellbinding musical experience.

With Georgia Mooney playing host, audiences are given a rare opportunity to gain behind-the-scenes insight into songwriting as she interviews some of Australian’s most
beloved musicians about their creative process, their inspiration, their stories and the
art of the song!

Each night the line-up of the songwriters and house band changes, therefore no two
shows are the same. It is an original, intimate, experimental and heartfelt musical
experience that fosters and showcases Australian songwriting and connects the
people who write songs with the people who love them – in a brand-new way.


Georgia Mooney is one quarter of ARIA winning indie-folk band, All Our Exes Live in Texas, and has circumnavigated the globe multiple times over, captivating the masses
and penning songs and stories from every corner. The Exes have received critical
acclaim from all directions, picking up a slew of musical trophies, including both the
2017 ARIA and AIR Awards for ‘Blues & Roots Album of the Year’ as well as two
consecutive National Live Music Awards for ‘Folk Act of the Year’.
In her own right, Georgia is a remarkable solo artist. Her music brings an old-world
timelessness to the modern day. Her voice is at once bold and fragile and her
melodies, surprising and transcendent. But Georgia Mooney is a performer
constantly adding strings to her bow. Her career in entertainment now extends to
include regular stints in radio, podcasting, storytelling and curation. SUPERGROUP
combines all of these interests and adds “dazzling host” to the list.

Davey Lane is a singer/songwriter/guitarist from Melbourne Australia. Currently
enjoying his 20th year as lead guitarist in You Am I, he has worked on stage and in
the studio with local and international legends such as Crowded House, Jimmy
Barnes, Todd Rundgren, Robyn Hitchcock, The Saints, and Masters Apprentices
among others. He has released 2 commercially received and critically reviewed full-
length albums and 3 EP’s as a solo artist, and is preparing his new record, entitled
Don’t Bank Yer Heart On It, for release early in 2020.

Olympia, after captivating Australian and international audiences whilst touring with Julia Jacklin in March and April, has recently released her highly anticipated sophomore album, ‘Flamingo’ – a 11 searing tracks representing Olympia’s most personal record to date; full of risk, escalation, and the complex pop unspooling we’ve come to recognise in her work. A striking follow up to debut ‘Self Talk’, an album that was nominated for an ARIA award, J Award for Best Video, shortlisted in the Australian Music Prize and selected as a Triple J feature album. Olivia Bartley, creative force behind the project, co-produced the upcoming album with long-time collaborator Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, Julia Jacklin, DMAs). Bartley explains, “The record explores the idea of trying to hold hope and hopelessness together. I’ve tried to borrow from my own grief to create its inverse: something new; a territorial hope affair – a love letter from the living.”

Phil Jamieson is best known as the front man of alternative band Grinspoon. The
band was the first band ever unearthed by the ABC Youth Radio Network, Triple J.
The first single was called Sickfest, lifted off their EP Green. The group followed with
six more studio albums, Easy (1999), New Detention (2002), Thrills, Kills & Sunday Pills (2004), Alibis & Other Lies (2007), Six to Midnight (2009), and Black
Rabbits (2012). All six peaked in the top 10 with both New Detention and Alibis &
Other Lies reaching No. 2. Grinspoon has been a beloved Australian band for 24
years and counting.

Courtyard bar opens an hour before show start. Pop in before the show for a drink and a mingle!

This show runs for two hours, including interval.

Giant Dwarf is a licensed venue. Anyone under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.


  • 21 Dec: Supergroup with Georgia Mooney
    21 December 2019
    8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • 24 Jan: Supergroup with Georgia Mooney
    24 January 2020
    8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  • 23 Feb: Supergroup with Georgia Mooney
    23 February 2020
    6:00 pm - 8:00 pm



199 Cleveland Street, Redfern, Sydney, 2016, Australia

SUPERGROUP with Georgia Mooney
21 Dec: SUPERGROUP $35.00
24 Jan: SUPERGROUP $35.00
23 Feb: SUPERGROUP $35.00


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!